Safe Routes to School

Support Safe Routes to School

House Bill 1793 will give more children access to safe routes to walk or bicycle to school. The Safe Routes to School Program has a wealth of benefits: Safer communities, healthier kids, and reduced traffic and pollution. Please contact the members of the Transportation Committee and urge him or her to vote YES on House Bill 1793 when it comes up for a vote in Committee.

This bill strengthens the existing legislation:

  • requires more funding to districts/schools with higher levels or poverty and the underserved,
  • would allow and increase funding allocation for emphasis on non-engineering elements (encouragement, enforcement and education), which is especially important for schools and projects that do not have specific engineering needs but could benefit from promoting more walking and biking safely,
  • it would elevate the importance of community collaboration and
  • create a state-wide advisory committee.

Members of the House Transportation Committee:

Judy Clibborn (D) Clibborn.Judy@leg.wa.gov

Marko Liias (D) Liias.Marko@leg.wa.gov

Dan Roach (R) Roach.Dan@leg.wa.gov

Jay Rodne (R) Rodne.Jay@leg.wa.gov

Mike Armstrong (R) Armstrong.Mike@leg.wa.gov

Tom Campbell (R) Campbell.Mike@leg.wa.gov

Don Cox (R) Cox.Don@leg.wa.gov

Mary Lou Dickerson (D) Dickerson.MaryLou@leg.wa.gov

John Driscoll (D) Driscoll.John@leg.wa.gov

Deborah Eddy (D) Eddy.Deborah@leg.wa.gov

Doug Ericksen (R) Ericksen.Doug@leg.wa.gov

Fred Finn (D) Finn.Fred@leg.wa.gov

Dennis Flannigan (D) Flannigan.Dennis@leg.wa.gov

Jaime Herrera (R) Herrera.Jaime@leg.wa.gov

Norm Johnson (R)  Johnson.Norm@leg.wa.gov

Brad Klippert (R) Klippert.Brad@leg.wa.gov

Dan Kristiansen (R) Kristiansen.Dan@leg.wa.gov

Jim Moeller (D) Moeller.Jim@leg.wa.gov

Jeff Morris (D) Morris.Jeff@leg.wa.gov

Christine Rolfes (D) Rolfes.Christine@leg.wa.gov

Mike Sells (D) Sells.Mike@leg.wa.gov

Matt Shea (R) Shea.Matt@leg.wa.gov

Geoff Simpson (D) Simpson.Greg@leg.wa.gov

Larry Springer (D) Springer.Larry@leg.wa.gov

Dean Takko (D) Takko.Dean@leg.wa.gov

Dave Upthegrove (D) Upthegrove.Dave@leg.wa.gov

Deb Wallace (D) Wallace.Deb@leg.wa.gov

Brendan Williams (D) Williams.Brendan@leg.wa.gov

Alex Wood (D) Wood.Alex@leg.wa.gov

Here is some background you can use in your email to legislators:

House Bill 1793 strengthens the  Safe Routes to School Program in the Washington State Department of Transportation. The program helps to create safe opportunities for kids to walk and bicycle to school. Safe routes to school help kids stay healthy and develop good exercise habits, while also helping to create more liveable communities. This bill is supported by the Washington Health Foundation & its Healthiest State Campaign, the Children’s Alliance as well as the statewide Childhood Obesity Prevention Coalition, among others.

Raising the bar for health in Skagit County.

Liz McNett Crowl, Coordinator
Skagit Valley Hospital
Outreach and Development, Healthy Communities
PO Box 1376
Mount Vernon, WA 98273
Phone: 360-428-2331
Email: LCrowl@skagitvalleyhospital.org

Skagit County Healthy Communities Project (SCHCP) is a partnership of the Skagit County Public Health Department and Skagit Valley Hospital, with broad community support to focus on increasing access to healthful nutrition and physical activity to decrease chronic disease and obesity. SCHCP is one of nine Healthy Communities Projects funded, in part, with a Washington State Department of Health Prevention Block Grant. Our project has three primary work areas: walking, biking and pathways; active community environments; and children’s health.

Advertisements